Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame 100th Anniversary Awards for Advancing Social Work in the State of Oklahoma and Beyond


The centennial anniversary of the Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work is now in motion, and to strengthen this celebration the school is calling for nominations of those exemplary social workers who fulfill the spirit, intentions, and innovation of social work in the state of Oklahoma.  The school refers to these three awards listed below as Centennial Awards.  They reflect what the school is about, and capture its purpose & mission over the past century.

The Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work requests nominations for its 100th Anniversary Awards in which the school and its alumni will recognize three outstanding if not exemplars of social work in Oklahoma and beyond.  In 2017, these awards will take the place of the school’s annual call for nominees for its Hall of Fame.

To be eligible for these three awards, a nominee must:

  • Be a graduate of the Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work
  • Hold the BSW and/or MSW degree
  • Be Involved in the practice of social work although some nominees may be retirees.

Previous honorees of the school’s Hall of Fame can be nominated for the three awards listed below.

  • Centennial Anniversary Lifetime Achievement Award in Social Work.  This award recognizes exceptional sustained achievements of a school graduate who stands as a role model for the profession in Oklahoma.  These nominees are exemplars of practice, contribute to the advancement of social work practice, and demonstrate considerable sustained accomplishment over the course of a career stretching across decades.  Nominees stand as role models for how to develop a meaningful long term career in social work. 
  • Centennial Anniversary Social Work Practice Award.  This award recognizes a front line social worker who demonstrates the core values of the profession in action. The committee is searching for nominees who work at the front end of service delivery in social work offering meaningful assistance to high-need individuals, groups, families or communities, and who reach out to those struggling with vulnerability and marginalization. The work and stories of such nominees may go unheralded but nonetheless, they persist in their efforts to improve the lives of people and communities reflecting the very best of the ideas, values, philosophy, and personal commitment indicative of outstanding social work practice.  Nominees are service providers involved in the actual delivery of social work assistance.
  • Centennial Anniversary Social Work Impact Award.   This award recognizes a social worker who has worked consistently to advance social work as a profession in Oklahoma. For this award nominees should demonstrate considerable impact in advancing the quality of life and well-being of those individuals who face marginalization.  Whether this is done through policy formulation, advocacy, political activism, practice innovation, or research, nominees for this award are known for their substantial improvements in the well-being of groups or populations.  

Submit your nomination here by March 31, 2017.

Professional Development Leader - State

Larry Gross
Deborah Smith 2014-2015 
Mary Grissom2013-2014
James Marks2012-2013
Terri White2011-2012
Tracey Strader2006-2007
Keith Pirtle2005-2006
Evelyn Seaton2004-2005
Terrie Fritz2001-2002
Katherine Honor1999-2000
Patricia Fennell1997-1998
Pauline Mayer1996-1997

Professional Development - National

Shawn Partridge
Harroll "Hop" Backus 2014-2015 
Esther Houser2012-2013
Bernard Albaugh2011-2012
Julia Norlin2001-2002
Martha Holmes2001-2002
Ina Javellas1999-2000
Lennie Marie Tolliver1998-1999
Dan Rabovsky1999-1998
Ruth Knee1996-1997

Practice Professional

Amy Schrimsher
Claudia Arthrell 2014-2015 
Pam Sanford2013-2014
Christine Marsh2012-2013
Bob Mann2011-2012
Martha Scales2006-2007
Jacqueline Cook2005-2006
Linda Edmonson2004-2005
Gwen Allen2001-2002
Ann Hardy1999-2000
Audry Haldaman1998-1999
Mike Frye1997-1998
Gail Lapidus1996-1997

Social Work Professional

Beryle Howerton1998-1999
Charles Dunbar1997-1998
Katherine Hudson1996-1997

Rural Social Worker

Cindy Howard
Fran Alltizer 2014-2015 
Robinson Tolbert2013-2014
Karen Gaddis2012-2013
Sherri Cone2011-2012
Edna Brown2006-2007
Jessie Vanderpool2005-2006

Social Welfare Leader

Julie Skinner
Dan Straughan 2014-2015 
Michael Brose2013-2014
Howard Hendrick2012-2013
Henry Zarrow2011-2012
Rodney Bivens2006-2007
Jean Ann VanKrevelen2005-2006
Jim Nicholson2004-2005
Retha Murdock2001-2002
Shirley Cox1999-2000
Tim O'Connor 1998-1999
George Miller1997-1998
Wilma Mankiller1996-1997

Political Leader 

Rita Aragon
Lee Denney2014-2015 
Doug Cox2013-2014
Judy Eason McIntyre2012-2013
Al Lindley2005-2006
Bernest Cain2001-2002
Ben Brown 1998-1999
Sandy Ingraham1997-1998
Charles Wright1996-1997

Social Work Educator

Anthony Natale
Peter Correia 2014-2015 
Barbara Bramble2013-2014
Don Baker2012-2013
Tonia Caselman2006-2007
Herman Curiel2005-2006
Ken Wedel2004-2005
Jane Flett2001-2002
Patricia Albaugh1999-2000
Wayne Chess1998-1999
Carol Bridges1997-1998
Zelma Hallock1996-1997

Special Award

Martha Scales2013-2014
Herman Curiel2013-2014
Carol Bridges2012-2013
Ina Javellas2011-2012
Mike Fogarty2010-2011
Ollie Woodward2005-2006
John Eckenberger2004-2005
Diane Freeman2004-2005
Eunice McDowell2004-2005
Patti Coloson2004-2005
Donna Vaughn2001-2002
Charles Smith1998-1999
Hayden Donahue1998-1999
Eloise Reynolds1997-1998
Julia Norlin1996-1997