NASW OK Awards - Diane Freeman & Connie Schlittler

We are pleased to announce Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work staff member Diane Freeman is the 2015 NASW OK Public Servant of the Year recipient. Ms. Freeman is deeply committed to the profession of social work as shown by her service to the University of Oklahoma where she has worked since 1987. First serving in the human resource department before moving to the school in 1997 where she took responsibility for community relations, event planning, and continuing education. Four years ago Ms. Freeman took on full time responsibility for the school's continuing education program where she works alongside Dr. Moxley. 

Through her considerable social capital, connections within the profession of social work and its leaders within Oklahoma, and her experience with university assets, Ms. Freeman has brought an unprecedented commitment to advancing continuing education for social workers across the state of Oklahoma. Beginning in 2010 with little infrastructure, the school at that time offered only one major annual event. By tapping into the practice assets of faculty, adjunct faculty, and experienced social workers, by 2011 Ms. Freeman increased continuing education offerings annually to about 30 events inclusive of the first Chief Wilma Mankiller Symposium, now going into its fifth year. In 2012, the number of events increased to approximately 40. This increase was a result of Ms. Freeman’s diligence and outreach efforts. In 2014, the Program for Continuing Education in Social Work, with a strong identity established in the social work professional community (and beyond in counseling and other helping professions), offered 70 events inclusive of almost 300 continuing education credits. Some 700 professionals participated in those events.

Ms. Freeman’s work is deeply impactful within the social work community. Her deep commitment to advancing Oklahoma social work is an ally to the profession. 

The school would also like to recognize Board of Visitors President Connie Schlittler on her award. She was named Social Worker of the Year. Congratulations and thank you for all your amazing work on behalf of the school and Oklahoma! 

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.